Best seller Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review

Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review

£378.29 £449.99

Best deal on: amazon amazon.co.uk
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Lowest price Product: Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS - £378.29
Price history
×
Price history for Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS
Latest updates:
  • £378.29 - August 28, 2017
  • £380.18 - August 22, 2017
  • £371.81 - July 23, 2017
  • £329.99 - June 20, 2017
  • £349.99 - May 4, 2017
Since: May 4, 2017
  • Highest Price: £380.18 - August 22, 2017
  • Lowest Price: £329.99 - June 20, 2017
0

Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review

The fact is they are leaders in this market. That is why we have looked at another Garmin with our Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review

But why on a cycling website would we be reviewing a walking and outdoors GPS unit?

 

Who is this Cycling Computer for?

The Garmin Edge 1000 isnt just limited to walkers but is also a handy accessory for your bike as well that is if your ride is on the road or you like to tour.

So is there anything in the Garmin Edge 1000 that we haven’t seen before in all other GPS units and cycle computers?

The Garmin Edge 1000 is a useful tool for when you are riding on the road as it tracks data but if your more adventurous and like to go off road maybe cross or gravel riding off the beaten track then this cycling computer is for you.

As a cycling computer it offers a lot more than simply tracking data it would be a waste to buy maybe just for commuting or shorter rides.

Features

Lets begin our Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review by looking at the features to see if the Garmin Edge 1000 is a bike friendly computer.

Size

The first thing you notice about he Garmin Edge 1000 is the size. It is considerably larger screen than the previous cycling computers and for good reason. But don’t let that put you off.

Visibility

The reason for the size is so that you can see the screen. The high-resolution 3 inch capacitive touchscreen display provides great map views and adjusts automatically for low-light areas, such as shades and tunnels. How good is that!

Data

You also get all essential data for your rides as you would expect. Also included is round trip routing and route creation.

Smartphone Connectivity

The Garmin Edge 1000 has smartphone connectivity which when paired allows calls and texts to come through but also social media sharing and live tracking for your friends and family to follow you if they want too.

You also have incident detection. In the event of an accident, this feature can manually or automatically send your location to your emergency contacts. It’s also compatible with the Edge remote accessory, allowing you to cycle through screens while keeping your hands on the handlebar.

Routes

The Garmin Edge 1000 is for cycling and exploring. If you intend on doing more than just cycling the same routes each ride then this maybe wasted on you.

However if you are stuck for new routes then buy the Garmin Edge 1000 and make use of the pre loaded maps feature and you will never get bored with cycling.

Final Thoughts

So having read through our Garmin Edge Explore 1000 GPS Review, have you made your mind up yet if you want one? Yes the size of the screen maybe a turn off for you but if you are the adventurous type you may want to consider this Cycling GPS.

I know if I was on a ling adventurous ride, I would want a clear concise computer on my handlebars and that is exactly what you get with this Garmin cycling computer.

9 Total Score
Simply Great

The Garmin Edge 1000 is for cycling and exploring. If you intend on doing more than just cycling the same routes each ride then this maybe wasted on you.

Size
6
Ease Of Use
7.5
Price
8.5
Ability
8
PROS
  • Can be charged on the go
  • Durable
  • Good battery life
CONS
  • Price
  • Some find difficult downloading maps
  • Can be Difficult setting up
Add your review
garmin edge explore 1000 gps.
Training and Racing with a Power Meter, 2nd Ed.

Training and Racing with a Power Meter, 2nd Ed.

VeloPress. 2012

Hunter Allen and Andy Coggan, PhD have completely revised the book that made power meters understandable for amateur and professional cyclists and triathletes. Power meters have become essential tools for competitive cyclists and triathletes. No training tool can unlock as much speed and endurance as a power meter--for those who understand how to interpret their data. A power meter displays and records exactly how much energy a cyclist expends, which lends unprecedented insight into that...

Total Heart Rate Training

Total Heart Rate Training

Ulysses Press. 2017

Outlines cutting-edge training techniques that can bolster the effectiveness of a workout, explaining how to use a heart rate monitor as a beneficial self-coaching tool, in a reference that discusses such topics as how to minimize injuries, using gym equipment, and recognizing when to increase and decrease a workout's intensity. Original.

Great British Bike Rides

Great British Bike Rides

Vertebrate Publishing. 2013

Author Dave Barter brings together 40 of the best road rides in England, Scotland and Wales, searching out the country's most celebrated routes, toughest climbs and most scenic roads. The rides are challenging, they are adventurous, and they are quintessentially British - tackle the classic Fred Whitton in the English Lake District; pit yourself against fearsome climbs inspired by the Dragon Ride in Wales; and feast upon Scotland's stunning scenery following wild roads through Assynt and...

I think most people would agree a device shouldn't be released with as many bugs as it had to start. That being said I didn't get it until the 2.30 firmware so I haven't experienced much of what "early adopters" experienced.Edit 8/22/2016Since I haven't posted any updates in quite a long time, I thought I would update this review to say that my Edge 1000 is still chugging along with no issues. The only real "new" item to add is that I've been using some of the Connect IQ apps that let your tweak your Edge a bit. There aren't many really nice apps but there are a few that IMO create a much nicer looking interface on the device if that is something you'd like to tweak.Edit 4/13/2015Running firmware 2.80 and the bluetooth connection with notifications has been stable and connects immediately once Connect is open on my phone. I did have to do a factory reset on the Edge and reestablish the bluetooth connection in order to get the BLE connection to pair. On my bike I run a Speed sensor, Stages Powermeter, Bluetooth to IPhone 6, Virb Elite, Edge Remote, and Heart Rate Monitor. All connections remain stable through entire ride.Pros:-For me I've had zero issues with WiFi. It loads every ride with no issues and has never forgotten my network.-Round Trip Routing has worked very well for me along with following a saved route. I am using the CN North America map since it sticks to all roads. I have found the maps pre-loaded work well but (and this is more of a standard map issue). Bike Paths are classified as roads as a standard. With the CN Maps it worries only about true street mapping. Personally our bike paths are worse than the road with walkers,rollerbladers,etc...that take up much of our local bike paths.-Personally I think the screen looks great. I have had no difficulty viewing the screen.-I have found the altimeter to be pretty good if you either A. Set your known starting elevation (easy to do) or B. give it a few to "settle" in and don't just hop on your bike and ride once it is turned on.-I've had zero issues with my existing heart rate monitor dropping out or taking wild spikes or looking like the reading is abnormal in any way. I have not had the cadence sensor drop out either and puts me the same as the old magnet sensor did for my rides.-Boots up lightning fast (much faster than the 500 or 810 both of which I own) and gets a GPS signal quickly and when I check the accuracy within a few seconds the accuracy is within 9ft.-Downloading workouts and using them for interval rides has worked without a hitch.Edit 7/19:I removed the Con on battery life and I'll wait to see on the remote as well. Initially, I mentioned 1 second recording vs. smart recording and researched and found the GPS unit samples every second either way. It only affects file size.-What I did do (and I don't know why I didn't think of it before as I do it on all my devices) was disable WiFi when out riding. All its going to do is spin its wheels the entire time looking for your network. This had a drastic impact on the battery drain after a 1 hour and 20 minute recovery ride I did today. During that ride the battery level dropped 10%. To me this is very acceptable. I also noticed the responsiveness of all the Ant sensors was much better. Changes to cadence,heart rate and remote clicks was much improved.Edit:7/29Since disabling WiFi DURING a ride I'm happy to report all the continued improvements. I can turn WiFi on at home and it connects every time but there is zero reason to leave this on while riding. I believe it is doing nothing but draining the battery needlessly and causing signal interference.Measured observations-On average with using the remote(which I use constantly paging through ride stats),bluetooth to Iphone,cadence,and speed sensor - I consistently measure anywhere between 10 to 12% battery drop every 1 hour 15 minutes (consistent every ride).Not one SINGLE signal dropout of any kind. I pay VERY close attention because I do Cadence and Heart Rate Intervals for my Interval workouts (don't have a power meter). Changes in cadence are picked up quickly and heart rate vs. perceived exertion follows suit. Remote no longer drops connection. Programmed workouts go smooth as silk.Elevation measurements - I have a few rides that I start and stop at the exact same spot. Elevation gain and loss I've either had be dead dead even or within 10ft - this is a very good indicator. I do NOT enable corrections on Garmin Connect.I go with whatever the Garmin unit tells me. My average ride will give me about 1,100ft of ascent to give you some idea.A couple of things I did while turning off WiFi (things to try). I initially setup the Edge 1000 while hooked up to a USB hub (stupid, stupid, stupid). It would not bring up my WiFi connection so I entered it manually and it worked. When I did a factory reset and set everything up from scratch this time I hooked directly into the computer (what you should always do). No problems detecting the WiFi unlike being hooked into the hub. I also took the time to turn off anything I wasn't using while riding - pages turned on by default,WiFi,etc....I set back up my known elevation from my house. I reconnected all sensors with WiFi turned off. I removed my bluetooth connections and reestablished them. All Ant sensors and the phone connected and registered with zero issues. I also left WiFi turned off on my phone while doing all of this.If this is your first or second Garmin, I can see how all of these settings can be confusing. Even owning 3 Garmin running watches and now my 3rd Garmin bike computer it took me some time to learn the ins and outs but man is it worth it. Never having to remove my hands to use the remote, round trip routing, notifications are things I all value though and mean a lot to me. I also like the display better than previous models but this is personal preference.I hope some of those suggestions might help anyone struggling with their Edge 1000. One final piece I thought of that may have an impact from signal interference. I also leave WiFi turned off on my phone as well while I'm out riding.Edit: 8/4Sorry as I know this review is getting long winded but I'm hoping it will help others with some of the negative comments.Understanding Garmin's maps - Don't forget to change your Activity to what you are doing (i.e. Tour Cycling will stick to roads for example). There are several activities that will affect how you'll be routed (Sticking to streets vs allowing off road trails). I like my road bike but not for mountain biking :) There are also avoidance entries you can setup such as highways. This is a standard GPS issue with how "areas" get classified so what may not seem like a highway to you, may be classified as one by GPS standards.Garmin's CN Navigator Map policy - I HATE it but they clearly state it on their site.If you buy the map as a download and put it on a micro sd card and register it to a previous Garmin unit, you will only be able to use it on that unit. I had one on my 810 and had to buy a new download and register it to your Edge 1000. "Advantage you get it the quickest and no shipping cost".If you buy the CN Navigator Map on GARMIN's card, you can use it on multiple devices (500, 810, 1000). The "disadvantage" - you cannot load the card into your computer for route planning.If you buy it via a Disk from Garmin- you unlock the disk and can do map routing and planning on your computer (the "advantage") but like the download it is registered to one device.I hope the information in my review is proving helpful. My Edge continues to work like a champ and still has zero issues but it did take me some work and research to get there.Edit 8/24Turning off WiFi during a ride was definitely the key. Still zero dropouts and everything working as it should. All previous positive comments still hold true
ByCloverridge - July 19, 2014
I have owned a Garmin Touring unit for about a year.... as I needed reliable a turn by turn gps unit... The Touring, many a time, simply turned off by itself.... the common denominator was when following a route, and when there were two turns in the route close together, and IF a wrong turn was made, the unit got confused and turned off, only to take a precious few minutes to wait for the unit to boot up and acquire satellites.The Explore 1000 is quite quicker and fast in providing turn prompts... The unit has not hung up to date. The data screens on the Explore can provide much more info on a bigger screen then the Touring, something my older eyes appreciates when looking down for a quick glance. The remote, I thought would be a so so option, however, I have found it to be a great feature that allows you to switch the data pages without you taking your hand off the handlebar.... mine is mounted on the inside of the bar where my thumb rests for easy reach by the thumb. Averaging about 4 hours of use and battery level is down to just 70 percent. That is, however, without bluetooth or wifi, and only GPS. A nice feature is the standby mode that will turn off the unit to save power, during a lunch break, etc.. I doubt I will use bike sensors, but the option is nice to have for the future for those who are into that. It is a little pricey, but I do not regret the purchase.
Cloverridge - March 2, 2016
I have had the Garmin Edge 1000 for about a week now and have used it on almost a daily basis. I understand (and agree with) the frustration of many of the users of how many bugs the unit had on its initial release, but all bugs that people have complained about have been fixed! (SEE UPDATES AT BOTTOM OF REVIEW, BUGS ARE NOW FIXED) First and foremost, there needs to be a distinction between a software "bug" and a "by design" feature. The difference is a "bug" is something that is supposed to work but doesn't, whereas a "by design" is a feature (or lack thereof) that is intended by the manufacturer. At the first writing of this review, the Edge 1000 was riddled with "bugs"... and I agree with every single reviewer that it should not have been released in its current state (SEE UPDATES)! However, after a phone call to Garmin tech support and reading multiple forums on the issues, Garmin specifically stated that it is addressing these bugs and has indicated that a firmware update will be released in mid-June which will address most, if not all of them. They held to their promise and so it was.In writing this review I therefore came back and edited it after the 2.3 software update which addressed the majority of bug fixes. With that software update, what we have is a great cycling GPS, loaded with features and substantial upgrades from its predecessors. Read on for details about these new features...Physical Unit / Screen:At first glance at the Edge 1000, its screen size is quite impressive! Upon turning it on, the color depth and resolution is the best that I have seen of any cycling GPS unit, and a huge difference from the 800/810 line. Where it gains in screen and surface size, it loses in width. The side of the unit is quite thin and although its weight measures at about 115g, the Garmin 810 is just slightly below at 97g, not a real noticeable difference for a VERY noticeable increase in screen size! Also worth noting that the Edge 1000 now uses a capacitive screen instead of the resistive screen used in past models, which gives it much more responsiveness to your touch, but less accuracy when wearing gloves or in rainy conditions. Overall, in most "biking" conditions, it is well worth the capacitive upgrade and is a noticeable and welcome change to the screen accuracy and responsiveness. Another great and needed feature is an Auto Brightness, which increases the screen brightness in bright sunlight and reduces it for less glare and higher battery life in low light conditions, such as at night or even going through a tunnel. Coupled with the brilliant display and large screen size, the outer design characteristics of the Edge 1000 is far superior to other models.One major bug that the unit DID was unintentional screen locks where it displayed a message "Touchscreen Locked" at random times. This bug HAS been fixed with the firmware patch.The Edge 1000 is also the first Garmin cycling unit to have WiFi capabilities. This is an exciting feature as activities, courses, routes, workouts, and other information can now automatically be sync'd with Garmin Connect without having to connect the unit via a USB cable. My initial uses of the WiFi feature has met varying degrees of reliability, as activities have easily automatically uploaded, where routes and courses have been frustrating to send the other way to upload to the actual unit. Again, this has been fixed and is no longer an issue.Along with the WiFi capability, the Edge 1000 (along with some of its predecessors) also has Bluetooth connectivity to a smart phone, using their Garmin Connect app. A new addition to the Edge 1000, however, is the ability to use Bluetooth "Smart" to allow text messages and phone calls appear to the unit. Currently, apple iOS (iPhones) is the only operating system supported, but Garmin claims to add Android functionality by the end of the summer (still not implemented). I personally own an Android phone so have not had any experience with the text and phone call capabilities, but I have heard that currently it is extremely buggy and is not working as it should. Another former bug was that the Garmin dropped connectivity often with my cell phone, which has been fixed, at least for my phone. Also note that even when this does get working, the text message and call display will be only a one way communication. Meaning, its more intended as an FYI, as the Edge 1000 will not have the ability to respond to texts or answer calls. Still, a nifty feature as it will be good for call screening purposes to see if a call or text is important enough to either stop the bike to respond, or if you have headphones with Bluetooth capability, you can see who is calling before picking up.Along with the Bluetooth connectivity is the ability to get weather forecasts and alerts sent to the Garmin 1000. Although it's quite easy to see the weather forecast, which is a nice feature to have, in the week I have used it (including during a stormy day), I received no alerts as to bad weather approaching (UPDATE: I have had the unit for several months now and have yet to get a weather alert). This may be worked on in the future, but I am not overly concerned as I generally bike in nicer conditions anyways.Activity Profiles:One of the biggest software changes that Garmin has made over the past couple years is the addition of Activity Profiles, which was introduced with the Edge 810, but is a huge part of the new Edge 1000. Instead of the older approach of using "Bike" Profiles, Garmin has fully switched to Activity Profiles, with customizable features which automatically change depending on the indicated activity. Some of the characteristics that can be customized for each activity include data screen display, sensor pairings, navigation options, optional display of a map or elevation graph, displaying a compass, alerts, and auto features (such as auto lap or auto pause). For instance, I have set up a "Commute" profile which has a BIG data window that has the current time, so that I know if I'm running late to work. This screen real estate is replaced with a Calorie count and Heart Rate display for my "Fitness" profile, whereas it displays GPS Heading information for my "Recreation" profile, front and center. The amount of customization for each profile is impressive, and I have already put several hours into customizing each of my profiles to get maximum use and functionality from them.Although there were many bugs in the previous firmware, one major "By Design" fault is that Garmin should NOT have changed is the REMOVAL of Bike Profiles from the list of features. On previous unit designs, Bike Profiles stored the list of sensors that each bike had, as well as an ongoing odometer for that particular bike, which although not critical, was a really nice way of seeing how many miles I've racked up on each of my 3 bikes. Gone is the Bike Profile design and replaced by Activity Profiles. Instead of having a list of sensors for each bike, the display is now a pool of paired sensors that are applicable to any bike you take out on the road or trail. I have not had any issues with the Garmin finding the sensors for the particular bikes that I am riding. I have not, however, had any experience with riding side by side with another bike that also has paired sensors with the Garmin, so cannot comment on that. I do know, however, that you can manually disable sensors from the pooled list, in case of any cross-interference with another paired bike. This seems counter-productive, however, to manually have to go in and disable certain sensors, rather than just having an "Engaged" Bike Profile as with past units. On the plus side though, any of the sensors can be renamed so that you can easily identify which sensors correspond with which bike, which may only partially make up for the lack of bike profiles.Unfortunately, also gone are the bike profile odometers, which is replaced by a general odometer that keeps track of overall miles of the Garmin itself, not each of the bikes. I would hope that Garmin would see the reviews and work on adding this feature BACK into the software design in a future firmware update as Bike Profiles and Activity Profiles could work very nicely in tandem. Although this is a "By Design" flaw on Garmin's part, it still does not warrant any less stars for the overall rating of the unit, as it is still an excellent choice in cycling GPS. UPDATE: As of the 2.4 firmware update (9/4/2014), Garmin integrated a TOTAL section for each Activity Profile which keeps track of total miles for that profile. I think that this was a response to people complaining that the odometer function was taken away, but having a total mileage for the Activity (rather than the bike used), is not a fix to the problem. Plus, there is no way to manually enter the mileage for the specific Activity, so if you racked up miles in the past, they will not be reflected.Mapping and RoutingAnother great feature that Garmin has added to the Edge 1000 is the fact that the unit comes pre-loaded with detailed street maps and can plan routes on the fly, and even give you multiple route options with the ability to choose whichever one suits you. It's this functionality that ultimately differentiates itself from most other cycling computers. With this, it will give you turn by turn directions based on street names and as you approach turns it'll then tell you of an upcoming turn, much like an Automotive GPS unit. If you miss the turn, it will notify you and automatically recalculate to guide you back on route. You can create courses on the Garmin Connect website which can then be uploaded to the Edge 1000. The connection / uploading process did have its issues, but again, this is a "bug" issue which Garmin does know about and is working on it. After a few attempts, I was able to get all of my courses and routes uploaded to the unit. The unit also has a "Route Planner" feature to input more than one destination and plan the best route(s) available to hit up every spot. Overall, the navigation features are what Garmin is known for and what they do best, and I really like the functionality of not only the planning, but the display options for maps, as well as the ability to display the distance, time and ETA to next point and ultimate destination right there on a data screen.Garmin Segments:With the Edge 1000, Garmin is introducing their new feature called "Segments", which I am actually very excited to use! Segments allow you to race or compete any part of a given route, such as a popular sprint location or a tough few mile climb. These segments include leaderboards and your ranking among them. They link to Garmin Connect so that other Edge 1000 users can also see them and choose whether to participate in the leaderboard rankings. You can either challenge an already-entered segment or can create and upload your own for others to compete. For instance, I created a 2-mile segment this morning from my work commute along the beach (yes, I am blessed to have a beach commute to work). The Edge 1000 then allows others to race against me on my specific 2-mile segment, where their status is compared to mine and other leaders and shown in real-time on their device. (UPDATE: After a couple months, more than 200 people have downloaded and used my segment! There is a leaderboard that shows everyone's times compared to mine and I hate to say I have been SMOKED by many great riders.) Pretty nifty feature and although there is a serious lack of already-loaded segments and participants at the current time, the Edge 1000 was just released so it is only a matter of time before the usage builds.Summary:Overall, despite the initial bugs, I am very happy with the new Garmin Edge model. Garmin made well on their promise to fix them in a timely manner, although I agree that it should have been done before its public release.My only real and lasting disappointment with it is the fact that Garmin took away the Bike Profiles, and with it an odometer reading for each individual bike. This is not a bug, but a conscious decision by Garmin to do so. Perhaps if enough people speak out (I have already written them via their website and also via my customer service phone call) they MAY implement it back into a future update... but I'm not holding my breath.With that small feature inconvenience, overall, the added features are great! The screen is large, bright and beautiful! The fact that its waterproof and has WiFi and connects (will connect) to your phone are great added features! The ability to compete against anyone and everyone that wants to use your recorded segment is an amazing and intuitive addition! All in all, this is the flagship Garmin model and despite its higher price, was well worth the purchase.Now that the initial bugs were fixed, the wait to purchase can be over! The Garmin Edge 1000 is now THE cycling GPS to own, hands down!UPDATE 6/30/2014:So, as promised, Garmin did release their firmware update and almost all the software problems have been fixed.As for all the other reviewers, especially those who gave the unit 1-star, I would hope that they would take the time and re-review the unit now that Garmin has patched the majority of complaints in the early release. Yes, Garmin should NOT have released it in such an early development, but now that the software has been updated, I still continue to stand firm that this is the best cycling computer out there. Enjoy!UPDATE 7/21/2014:I have been using the Edge 1000 for about 3 weeks now since the software update (about 15 rides or so) and am happy to report that all of the software bugs have been worked out! I have had no screen crashes, stalls, syncing issues, or uploading problems. The new feature to add smarter segment identifying (direction detection to not start segment if going the other way) is a great new addition and works perfectly.As I mentioned in my original review, once the bugs were worked out, this "will be" and "is now" the top of the line cycling computer on the market. Anyone who was holding off until the bugs were gone, now's the time to purchase. Enjoy!UPDATE 9/4/2014:Garmin released firmware update 2.4, which has some neat new features. For one, it displays a Summary review at the end of each ride. Also, it will now connect with an Android phone, in addition to the iPhone connections available in past versions. It not only displays text messages but also incomming and missed calls. As I mentioned, there is no way (as of now) to SEND texts, only read them. Also, they have added functionality to show total mileage for each Activity Profile, as described above... although no bike profiles or odometers for individual bikes as of now. Although I have not tried it, I heard that a great new feature is predictive altitude/elevation, which will tell you elevation changes and slopes ahead of time to allow you to prepare, a nice new feature! I have also heard on forums that battery life has been noticeable increased as the new firmware is optimized to not use as much juice as previous versions.
ByRinconadaSwimmer - June 5, 2014

Tags:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Register New Account
Reset Password
Compare items
  • Cameras (0)
  • Phones (0)
Compare
0